Is Raskolnikov evil and am I a psychopath?!

Continuing our discussion in class, I do not think Raskolnikov is evil. I believe that evil is a man made phenomenon because it is all perception. Humans do what they do best, survive; however, it is not until laws are created that humans become restricted in their actions. So now human actions are considered evil or non-evil based on whether they follow the criteria of the law. I do, though, believe Raskolnikov made a bad decision and must held accountable. That is all it is, bad decisions. I agree with John Locke in the fact that humans are born with a clean slate and are influenced by their education. But I would then add Socrates paradox in that no one knowingly does wrong because they have their own justification.

Raskolnikov, like many other criminals, believes that his crime was not a crime because he had sufficient reasons for killing Alyona. Criminals do not know what is “good” or “bad” in accordance of society because they are based off the societies perceptions of whether it is “good” or “bad.” Hence, the manipulation of stories by the media occurs. George Zimmerman, whom I do not think is evil either, was perceived by the media as evil but clearly in the courts the jury says otherwise. One jury member especially believes that he did the right thing. In my opinion, he should be charged just for taking a life unnecessarily.

So, I am very happy to report that I am not a psychopath. My scores from the first time said I was narcissistic and histrionic, but the second try did not name me narcissistic. Either way I am a little disappointed. There is a part of me that wishes I was a psychopath (but able to control it) because it would bring a very nice class discussion. HaHa. I think psychopaths are very interesting because the development of their brains are slightly different. After listening to the TAF recording, I would like to meet a psychopath.

Leave a Reply

